Student Awards and Organizations

Rothwell Scholarship Recipients

  • 2015 - 2016 - Alex Gottschalk
  • 2014 - 2015 - Matthew James
  • 2013 - 2014 - David Finley
  • 2012 - 2013 - Megan Dale
  • 2011 - 2012 - Sana Khan
  • 2010 - 2011 - August Caravalho
  • 2009 - 2010 - Michelle Hall
  • 2008 - 2009 - Adam Parker
  • 2007 - 2008 - Jason Damweber
  • 2006 - 2007 - Ryan Ewalt

Deil S. Wright Research Paper Award Recipients

Nanette V. Mengel Communication Award Recipients

  • 2015 - Brittany Clark
  • 2014 - Sarah Forbes

Student Organizations
The Master of Public Administration Program has a number of student organizations that play a vital role in enhancing the MPA student experience. Student organizations within the MPA Program allow students put theory into practice by developing leadership, program management, and networking skills.

Carolina Society for Future Leaders (CSFL)
The CSFL was established by MPA student, Parker Wiseman. This is a student organization recognized by the greater UNC campus. The CSFL secures speakers of interest working in the field of public administration.

Position Name Email Members
President Audrey Shore audrey16@live.unc.edu Billy Cook
Treasurer Francine Stefan mfstefan@sog.unc.edu Olivia Hammill
Publicist Lauren Brune lbrune@live.unc.edu Janice Hillanbrand
Secretary Lauren Brune lbrune@live.unc.edu Ellis Johnson II
      Stephanie Olson
      Ivette Tapia
      Stephanie Watkins-Cruz
      Sabrina Willard
      Alexander Vazquez

 

Diversity Committee
The Diversity Committee holds workshops with first-year students once a semester to discuss diversity-related issues for public administrators. The committee seeks to have meaningful and respectful conversations where all participants feel comfortable sharing their thoughts and feelings. 

Member Email Member Email
Luisa Agathon luisafer@live.unc.edu Meagan McDougall mejmcd@live.unc.edu
Julia Da Silva jdasilva@email.unc.edu Stephanie Olson solson23@live.unc.edu
Joseph Eckstrom jdeckstr@live.unc.edu Ashley Tucker ast91@live.unc.edu 
Matt James msjames@live.unc.edu Stephanie Watkins-Cruz swcruz@live.unc.edu 
Ellis Johnson II john2711@live.unc.edu  Alexander Vazquez av35@live.unc.edu
Omar Kashef kashef@live.unc.edu    

 

ICMA Student Chapter
Our student chapter's goals are to introduce students to ICMA and the local government management profession, establish connections between local government management theories and practices, and cultivate a learning community wherein members actively share experiences.

Position Name Email
President Alexander Vazquez  av35@live.unc.edu
Vice President Patrick Madej pmadej@live.unc.edu
Treasurer Luisa Agathon luisafer@live.unc.edu
Communications Coordinator Caley Trujillo caleytru@live.unc.edu
Secretary Olivia Hammill ohammill@admissions.unc.edu

 

Public Administration Leadership Challenge (PALC)
The PAL Challenge was established in 2013 by graduate students enrolled in the Master of Public Administration program at the UNC School of Government. The Challenge aims to engage UNC-Chapel Hill undergraduates in relevant, community-based issues of public administration in the form of a case study competition. The overarching goals of the PAL Challenge are threefold: (1) to educate undergraduates about public administration (2) to promote the mission of the School of Government and Master of Public Administration programs, and (3) to recruit prospective UNC MPA students.

Directors Email
Lauren Brune lbrune@live.unc.edu
Olivia Hammill ohammill@admissions.unc.edu
Allison Hawkins achawkins@email.unc.edu
Francine Stefan mfstefan@sog.unc.edu

 

Social Committee
Members of the Social Committee organize a number of events sponsored by the MPA Program. 

Member Email Member Email
Lauren Brune lbrune@live.unc.edu Audrey Shore audrey16@live.unc.edu
Julia Da Silva jdasilva@email.unc.edu Francine Stefan mfstefan@sog.unc.edu
James Ellis ellisjp@email.unc.edu Caley Trujillo caleytru@live.unc.edu
Olivia Hammill ohammill@admissions.unc.edu Sabrina Willard willards@live.unc.edu 
Hannah Osborne hrosborn@live.unc.edu    

 


Student Committee Representatives
MPA students share in the governance and operation of the following MPA and University committees:

Alumni Executive Board Representatives

On Campus Representatives Online Rep
Francine Stefan Megan Garrett
mfstefan@sog.unc.edu megan.garrett@unc.edu            
Hannah Osborne Gary Rosche
hrosborn@live.unc.edu rosche@live.unc.edu

 

Deil Wright Lecture Representatives

2nd Year/Dual Degree Rep 1st Year Rep
Omar Kashef Alex Gottschalk
kashef@live.unc.edu agottsch@email.unc.edu         

 

Faculty and Staff Meeting Representatives

2nd Year/Dual Degree Rep 1st Year Rep
Jordan Paschal Ashley Tucker                          
paschalj@live.unc.edu ast91@live.unc.edu 

 

Graduate Professional Student Federation (GPSF)

GPSF Senator
Stephanie Watkins-Cruz
swcruz@live.unc.edu